“A Salute to ‘Old Glory’ from the Eyes of a 7th Grader”

Photo via the VAntage Point blog

Joseph Pizzo is a member of the Fordham Digital Literacies Collaborative, led by Dr. Kristen Turner. He is an English teacher at Black River Middle School in Chester, NJ and an adjunct professor at Union County College and Centenary College. The following excerpt is from Joe’s guest post on the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs VAntage Point blog.

Patriotism is a belief that inspires us to pay tribute to all who have sacrificed by serving our great nation.  Patriotism also recognizes the bravery both of those who have served and the families, friends, and fellow citizens who have supported the efforts of our brave men and women of the military.

As a middle school English teacher of 42 years, I have encouraged my students often to recognize the fact that it is only through the efforts of our dedicated military personnel that we are able to live in a society in which our freedom is guaranteed and defended daily.  Whenever the opportunity presents itself to recognize our military, I encourage my students to do so.  It is that encouragement that led my student Michael to author one of the finest tributes to our flag that I have ever had a student produce.

Let me explain how this poem was created.  During May of 2015, I assigned Lois Lowry’s novel The Giver to my seventh grade integrated language arts class to read.  We discussed the importance of color and the prominent place color plays for the main character Jonas.  After my students wrote their poems, I gave them the opportunity to use technology to celebrate color in a more vivid manner.  The students created online animations and a couple of iMovies.  When I saw the potential to use technology for this project, I decided to expand the use of technology on a larger scale when I would be teaching Lowry’s novel again this May.

Read the full post at the VAntage Point blog.

Learn more about digital literacy and integrating technology into the classroom at the annual Fordham DLC conference on Wednesday, July 13th.

 

 

 

 

Comment

